What is The WordPress Loop?

by Monday, June 17, 2013

The Loop is PHP code used by WordPress to display posts. Using The Loop, WordPress processes each post to be displayed on the current page, and formats it according to how it matches specified criteria within The Loop tags. Any HTML or PHP code in the Loop will be processed on each post.

When WordPress documentation says “This tag must be within The Loop”, such as for specific Template Tag or plugins, the tag will be repeated for each post. For example, The Loop displays the following information by default for each post:

You can display other information about each post using the appropriate Template Tags or (for advanced users) by accessing the variable, which is set with the current post’s information while The Loop is running.

No tags 0

Privacy Preference Center

Marketing

These cookies record your visit to boldbodies.co.uk, the pages you have visited and the links you have followed to other sites. We will use this information to try and make our site and other sites that you visit more relevant to your interests. We may also share this information with selected third parties, expert in experience.

Facebook, Twitter, Tumbler, Mailchimp
Facebook user cookie

Analytical and Performance Cookies

We may use analytics service providers for website traffic analysis and reporting. Analytics service providers generate statistical and other information about the use of boldbodies.co.uk by using cookies. They allow us to recognise and count the number of visitors and to see how often visitors return to the site, how long they stay and how visitors move around our site when they are using it. This helps us to improve the way our site works, for example, it helps users to find what they are looking for easily. The information generated relating to the site may be used to create reports about the use of the site and the analytics service provider will store this information.

Google Analytics (web traffic statistics)
analytics.js

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?